Coot with Chick

Parent Feeding Chick
Photo credit: Sandy/Chuck Harris on Flickr.

Here’s a recording I made at the Ankeny National Wildlife Refuge in 2002. It is one of the tracks from my “Sounds of the Willamette Valley” CD. In the liner notes I said:

The mother is clucking at her peeping chick telling it to stay close. Both are swimming in a small body of water about 20 feet away.

I recorded this with a Sony minidisc recorder and stereo cone microphone (of my own invention).

Download – (MP3 file, 932 KB, 160 kbps, 44.100 kHz, Joint Stereo)

Leave a Reply

